What is a Zoom Waiting Room and How to enable it?

The Zoom app has completely changed the idea of video conferencing. It is indeed a fantastic video conferencing platform that offers you the facility of including more than 500 participants. However, the most impressive trait of the Zoom app is its privacy and security measures. Zoom has now introduced a feature known as the “Waiting Room.” 

What is a Zoom Waiting Room?

As the name suggests, the waiting room is a virtual place that will not allow the Zoom participants to join the meeting until the host is ready. If you are the host, you can use the waiting room to let the other users enter the meeting one by one or all at once.

Zoom Waiting Room

Zoom Waiting Room Prerequisites

You must have a Zoom waiting room enabled in the Zoom web portal and either of the following devices-

  • If you are using a PC, the version should be 4.5.0 (1032.0906) or later.
  • If you have a macOS, the version should be 4.3.0 (446.0130) or later.
  • For Chrome users, the version should be 3.6.2995.0127 or later.
  • The version should be 4.3.6 (220.0125) or later for iOS.
  • If you are using an android device, it should have a 4.3.6 (40253.0127) or later version.
  • For Windows, the version should be 4.3.6 (13374.0129) or later.

Note:

If your waiting room is enabled, you cannot join the meeting before the host does. Click here to find a solution for it and know more about the Zoom waiting room. Also, webinar sessions do not offer the waiting room feature. You can click on this link to use a webinar practice session.

How to Enable the Zoom Waiting Room?

Enable Waiting Room for all Users:

  • Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  • Click “Account Management” then Account Settings in the navigation menu.
  • Go to the “Waiting Room” option from the “Meeting Tab” and ensure that the setting is enabled. If you find that the setting is disabled, click on the status toggle to allow it.
  • To select the participants for the Zoom session, click on “Edit Options.” You can either- 
    • Allow everyone to join the meeting.
    • Allow only those users who are not in your Zoom account, or they will find an option to log in if they have not or are unable to log in.
    • Allow participants who are not part of the allowed domains or are not in your Zoom account.
  • Click on “Lock” to confirm the setting.

 

Enable Waiting Room for Users of a Particular Group:

  • Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  • Select “User Management,” then click “Group Management.”
  • After clicking the “Group Name,” click “Settings.”
  • Go to the “Waiting Room” option from the “Meeting Tab” and ensure that the setting is enabled. If you find that the setting is disabled, click on the status toggle to allow it. If you find the option to be grayed out, it is locked from the Account level and must be changed.
  • To select the participants for the Zoom session, click on “Edit Options.” You can either- 
    • Allow everyone to join the meeting.
    • Allow only those users who are not in your Zoom account, or they will find an option to log in if they have not or are unable to log in.
    • Allow participants who are not part of the allowed domains or are not in your Zoom account.
  • Click on “Lock” to confirm the setting.

Enable Waiting Room For Your Own Account:

  • Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  • Click on “Settings” in the navigation menu.
  • Go to the “Waiting Room” option from the “Meeting Tab” and ensure that the setting is enabled. If you find that the setting is disabled, click on the status toggle to allow it. You need to contact your Zoom administrator if the option gets grayed out.
  • To select the participants for the Zoom session, click on “Edit Options.” You can either- 
    • Allow everyone to join the meeting.
    • Allow only those users who are not in your Zoom account, or they will find an option to log in if they have not or are unable to log in.
    • Allow participants who are not part of the allowed domains or are not in your Zoom account.

Enable Waiting Room for an Individual Meeting:

  • Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  • Click on “Meetings”
  • You can schedule a new meeting or can select a meeting topic to edit it.
  • Click on “Enable Waiting Room.” 
  • Click on “Save.”

Enable Waiting Room for Your Personal Meeting ID(PMI):

  • Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  • Click on “Meetings.”
  • Select the “Personal Meeting Room” button.
  • Click on “Edit This Meeting” to make your suitable changes.
  • Click on “Enable Waiting Room” from “Meeting Options.”
  • Click on “Save.”

How to Use a Waiting Room in Zoom?

To know more about the Zoom waiting Room, you must know its usage on your device, be it Windows, Mac, or an Android.

For Windows:

  1. If you are the host, click on “Participants’.
  2. Click on “More” from the bottom of the user’s window. Then choose “Put Attendee in Waiting Room on Entry” to enable the waiting room feature.

For Mac:

  1. If you are the host, click on “Participants’.
  2. Click on “More” from the bottom of the user’s window. Then choose “Put Attendee in Waiting Room on Entry” to enable the waiting room feature.
  3. If you want to allow participants to send messages during a meeting, click on “Chat.” Next, click on the dropdown next to “To’ and then select “Everyone.’

For Android:

  1. Click on “More,” provided you are the host.
  2. Click on “Put Attendee in Waiting List” to turn on the waiting room characteristic.
  3. If you want to admit participants during a meeting, click “Participants,” then click “Admit.”

Now that you know all about the Zoom waiting room, what are you waiting for? Install the Zoom app and enjoy video calling!

Leave a Comment

Pin It on Pinterest